Simple Sewing With a French Twist

2 Aug

1-DSC_0500

When I checked out Simple Sewing with a French Twist from the library, I thought it would be a technique book for some reason.  It is not.  It’s a pattern book!  And also quite thick

2-DSC_0501

With any pattern book, I recommend checking out out from your local library like I did or thumbing through it at the book store before purchasing.  That way you’ll know if you are actually interested in the patterns it contains.

There were a couple of cute ideas in there like covering the back of a chair with buttons

5-DSC_0517

or a bathrobe wrap

6-DSC_0518

and even a bean bag and parasol

9-DSC_0521

All of the patterns are super simple, so they (mostly) just require a ruler.  In some instances they include a pattern, but you have to copy it at a copy shop with a certain % enlargement.  There is a small section in the beginning which describes some basic sewing and seam finishing techniques.

It was a fun book to look at, but probably not one I would purchase.  I felt like I could figure out how to do most of the projects in the book, and the ones I couldn’t you needed to have a specific object like the skeleton of the parasol around to do.

So I give it 3 spools out of 5.

3

2 Responses to “Simple Sewing With a French Twist”

  1. craftmyescape August 2, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    I’m trying to decide on some new sewing/knitting books to get and it’s a really good idea to look at them at the library. I was tempted by the title of this one, but don’t think I will now!

    • allisonvictoria August 2, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

      I love looking at the sewing books in the library. If your library carries it, I suggest checking it out. It was fun to look at for a little bit if nothing else.

Leave a Reply

