Wadders to Wearables

17 Jul

Is it too late to change my summer resolution from the vague and cliche “have more fun” to “turn my wadders into wearable/ usable items”? I hope not. I think getting some of these half done and made but not loved items out of my sewing room will be good for me. And hey, I might even have a little fun along the way.

First up is this yellow shirt/dress thing I made for Easter a couple of years ago.  It was a project that I chose to learn how to use my rolled hem foot.  See all those ruffles?  Yeah, they are all finished with the rolled hem foot.  Unfortunately, I didn’t really take any notes.  So I’ve basically forgotten all of the “tricks” I came up with to do all those hems.  But that’s what this blog is for, right?

Why is it a wadder?

Notice the weird gaping along the neckline?  I tried to get rid of it, but was unsuccessful.

Then, I finally realized that I couldn’t actually pull off this style.  I already look young for my age.  Add in a very baby doll/ youth top and I look like I’m just not very mature.  I think it’s the sleeves that put me off.  Or maybe it’s the skirt?  The rest of the fabric/style is just not sophisticated enough for me to pull off puffy sleeves/tiny skirt and not look like I’m trying to compete in Toddlers in Tiaras.

I didn’t even like it enough to take a decent photo.

I do, however like peasant-y tops, so I’m hoping to transform this from baby doll to something a little more wearable.  You know take off the sleeves, some of the ruffles..

Have you turned any wadders into something you really love?  Have any tips to share?

Leave a Reply

