Spoonflower

10 May

Ever heard of spoonflower?  Well I think they’re pretty awesome (and they don’t even pay me to say that).  It’s a website that lets you design your own fabric!  And since one of the Spring 2012 trends is digital image print fabric, I thought I would share.  You can also browse other people’s designs (and sell your own), which is pretty neat.

A while back they had a two fat quarters for the price of one deal, so I decided to try them out.  I chose two designs (from two different designers) that I thought looked good together on the screen.  One has monsters and robots on it, the other has gears.  Yes, I like monsters and gears.  I thought it would add a little whimsey to my bedroom to have such a fun print as an accent pillow.

IMG_2462

The colors are pretty true to how they looked on my computer screen, so the bluish green from the one designer almost exactly matches the bluish green background of the gears.  Score on that one.  It came fairly quickly and the fabric was wrapped in tissue paper with a little spoonflower sticker on it.  I like the little touches.  The only thing slightly disappointing was that the print doesn’t go all the way to the edges.  I’m not sure if that is because of something the designer did, or it’s just how they print their fabric.   I probably lost 2-4″ total in both length and width due to the print not extending all the way out.  Oh well, I’ll have a slightly smaller pillow now.

If you are interested in creating your own fabric or if you just need that perfect stripe or polka dot and it seems like it is impossible to find, it’s good to know there is an option out there.  It’s a little bit on the expensive side, but unique fabric can really make an outfit (or a room)!   I hope more fabric printing options come available to DIYers in the future, I love the concept.

PS.

You can find the monsters fabric I bought here

and the gears fabric here

Leave a Reply

