Wardrobe Plan: Running

17 Apr

Now, you’d think all you would need is a good pair of running shoes and that’s it.  Surprisingly, I tend to need many things to run

Wardrobe Plan: Running

Yeah, you need a good pair of shoes. (My favorite pair is Nike, but watch the sizing!  I’m normally a size 6 in shoes, but I wear a 7.5 in Nike running shoes.  I don’t know why they are so different, but they fit like a glove and I love them).  But you also need clothing that’s appropriate for the weather, which means you can end up needing many different pieces depending on where you are!

I’m (trying) to be a year-round runner, even though I suffer from extreme bouts of laziness and procrastination.  This year I bought myself a thermal hoodie and pants so I could go running at night in the winter.  An important thing to remember about running in the winter is that it gets dark earlier, so reflective clothing is a must.  I also got a mid-weight jacket that would repel water in our normally rainy springs.  Although the whole “normally rainy” thing hasn’t happened this year.  I also bought some mid-weight pants (both with reflective strips) so I have appropriate gear for the fall/spring.  I’ve been looking for reflective shorts, but I guess manufacturers think that if you’re wearing shorts, it’s probably light out.  They are probably right, but I’m sure there are some areas of the world where it’s hot, even at night.  Finally, you need a good moisture-wicking shirt and sports bra.

Whew!  That’s a lot of stuff for something that should just require shoes! (And don’t forget an iphone to log your miles and headphones to hear some tunes)

But my secret to running is this guy

 

Isn’t he the most adorable guy ever?  Yep.  He likes his runs.  He tends to think he’s a sled dog, unless he’s wearing this harness

It’s the Easy Walk reflective harness.  It tightens across his chest/legs when he pulls which prevents him from pulling very hard or for very long.

It’s the little things, like not having your arm being jerked from its socket because your dog saw a squirrel that makes it all worth while.  That, and the huge grin he has on his face when we’re done, and the subsequent nap.

Leave a Reply

