The Overcast Foot

8 Sep

I love my overcast foot, even though it was one of the more expensive foots I’ve bought.  It makes the overcasting stitches on a regular sewing machine behave more like a serged edge.  No, it doesn’t cut the fabric for you like a serger, I typically do that before I overcast it.  But it does keep the fabric edge from pulling into the machine so you get a nice crisp edge.  It’s definitely one of my most used feet.  Anytime I don’t want to flat fell or french seam, I overcast.  I think it looks the closest to RTW you can get without an additional machine.

Plus it’s great on light weight ravel prone fabric.  You know the kind.  Just overcast all the edges, and no more raveled mess!

Leave a Reply

